Information published on 24 January 2012 in the UIC electronic newsletter "UIC eNews" Nr 275.

Spain: Council of Ministers appoints chairmen of RENFE, ADIF and FEVE

  • News from UIC members

On Friday 20 January, the new Transport Minister Ana Pastor announced three new significant appointments adopted by the Council of Ministers:

Chairman of Renfe: Julio Gómez-Pomar Rodríguez (succeeds Teófilo Serrano)
Born in 1957, and with a degree in Economics, Julio Gómez-Pomar Rodríguez has previously occupied the positions of Secretary of State for Public Administration (Ministry of Public Administration), Director-General of Community Funds and Territorial Financing (Ministry of Finance), and Director-General of the Social Security Treasury (Ministry of Labour and Social Affairs).

Chairman of FEVE: Marcelino Oreja Arburua (succeeds Angel Villalba)
Born in 1969, and an engineer by training, Marcelino Oreja Arburua was a Director of public sector enterprise EVE, Director-General of the systems and technology business unit of EMTE SA (now COMSA EMTE SA), a group of companies specialising in the areas of railway construction and civil engineering, installations, mechanical engineering, telecommunications and system integration. He was also a member of the European Parliament and International Director of Aldeasa.

Chairman of ADIF: Enrique Verdeguer Puig (succeeds Antonio González Marín)
Born in Valencia in 1964, and with a degree in Economics, Enrique Verdeguer Puig was Minister of Economy, Trade and Industry for the regional government of Valencia. He has previously been Director of the Spanish Institute for Foreign Trade (ICEX) and Director of the Industrial Products and Technology Division.
Enrique Verdeguer Puig has also worked at the Spanish Embassy in Rabat and was Deputy Director-General of studies on the external sector at the Ministry of Economy.

(Source: Spanish Ministry of Transport)