Tuesday 28 June 2016

22nd PASSAGE Meeting held from 14 – 15 June 2016 in Leuven, Belgium

Share this article

The 22nd PASSAGE (Passenger Accessibility Solutions Support and Action Group for Europe), Working Group meeting took place on 14 and 15 June October in Leuven, kindly hosted by NMBS/SNCB. It was chaired by Mr Hans Christian Kierketeerp Moller (DSB), president of the group. UIC was represented by Mr Luis Casado Presa, Senior Advisor of the Passenger Department. Representatives from CFL, RENFE, TRAINOSE, ZSSK, CD, SNCF, ÖBB, SBB and MAV START attended the meeting.

Several subjects were discussed. The meeting started with the traditional round table introduction in which all attendees explained the latest developments in the field of accessibility within their companies and/or in their countries. After that, the results of the study regarding the ticket vending machines and the adaptation to PRMs were presented, and it was decided to publish a guide on this subject. It was also decided that the next project of the group will focus on the provision of accessibility services in situations where there is a lack of resources, given the budgetary constrictions these kind of services usually have to deal with and the increasing number of demand that companies have to face.

During the second day, the new tariff approved by the NRT working group regarding the trips of companions of PRMs was discussed, and a new project was presented by Mr Jaromir Fol (CD), regarding the publicity of the assistance policies in railway companies for PRM international travel. David Sarfatti (AVANCIAL) presented the latest statistics in the use of PRM ABT, and it was agreed to study further developments of the tool in future meetings.

As the group had shown great interest in the provision of accessibility services in a small station, NMBS/SNCB organised a trip to Aachen where representatives of the companies could see for themselves how assistance is provided in a small, but busy station with limited resources.

The next meeting will take place in Stockholm, Sweden on 18 and 19 October 2016, hosted by TRAFIKVERKET.

For further information please contact Luis Casado Presa: casado@uic.org

3 Votes

Average rating: 4.67 / 5

From left to right: Fabienne Magnan (SNCF), Veronika Trulikova (ZSSK), Jaromir Fol (ČD), Christian Aerts (NMBS), Christian Schwarzl (ÖBB), Tanya Stötzer (DB), David Sindall (ATOC), Dana Mahutova (ZSSK), Luis Casado Presa (UIC), Werner Jordan (SBB), Paola Negri (Trenitalia), Niklas Henriksson (Trafikverket), Hans Christian Kirketerp-Møller (DSB), Rudy De Geeter (NMBS), Giampiero di Luca (RFI) and Jérôme Rennotte (SNCF)