Information published on 11 January 2011 in the UIC electronic newsletter "UIC eNews" Nr 220.

4th ONCF/UIC International Seminar Railway Safety and Security Procedures to implement a high speed system

  • High-Speed
  • Safety
  • Security

This 4th seminar is jointly organised between ONCF and UIC with a view to the upcoming opening of the high speed line linking Tangiers to Casablanca. The seminar will be held in Ifrane, Morocco, from 20 to 22 April 2010, and will take stock of the various technical and institutional aspects whilst enabling experiences and issues to be shared between the companies and countries which already operate high speed rail systems, countries in the process of implementing such projects and countries who are still at the planning stage.

The seminar follows that on Security Challenges and High Speed Development held in Mumbai on 20 and 21 October 2010 and the 7th World Congress on High Speed Rail held in Beijing from 7 to 9 December 2010.

The seminar will conclude with a technical visit to the site of the future Moroccan Tangiers-Casablanca high speed rail line currently under construction, the inaugural such high speed line worksite in the Maghreb and in Africa.

The seminar will officially be opened by Morocco’s Minister of Infrastructure and Transport Mr Karim Ghellab, ONCF Chief Executive and Chairman of UIC Africa Mr Mohamed Khlie, and UIC Director-General Jean-Pierre Loubinoux.

The seminar will focus on practical aspects relating to safety and security when a high speed system is completed and opened to revenue service.

Specific topics to be addressed will include:

  • Infrastructure and rolling stock: design, harmonisation, maintenance, standards
  • Operations: stations, maintenance, safety and security
  • Staff training

A suppliers’ exhibition will be organised and a seminar session will be reserved for exhibitors.

For information or presentation proposals please contact:
For ONCF: Mr Khaddour: khaddour@oncf.ma; Mr Smouni: smouni@oncf.ma and M. Samir: samir@oncf.ma

For UIC: Mr Barron: barron@uic.org, Mr Colliard: colliard@uic.org or Mr Aubert: aubert@uic.org

0 | 5 | 10 | 15 | 20 | 25 | 30 | 35 | 40 | ... | 345 0 | 5 | 10 | 15 | 20 | 25 | 30 | 35 | 40 | ... | 270 0 | 5 | 10 | 15 | 20 | 25 | 30 | 35 | 40 | ... | 310