Tuesday 5 March 2013
Partner associations / European Railway Award

European Railway Award 2013: Benedikt Weibel, former CEO of SBB and former UIC Chairman, and Dr Johannes Nicolin from AAE Holding AG receive awards

Share this article

The European Railway Award 2013, jointly organised by CER and UNIFE, was presented on 26 February in Brussels to Benedikt Weibel, former CEO of Swiss Federal Railways (SBB) –and former UIC Chairman from 2003 to 2006 – for political achievement, and to Dr Johannes Nicolin, Technical Director at AAE Holding AG, for technical achievement. Since 2007, the European rail sector has honoured outstanding political and technical achievements in the rail sector. The annual reception hosted by CER and UNIFE attracted more than 500 guests from all over Europe, including high-level politicians and transport stakeholders.

UIC was represented at this event by its Director General Jean-Pierre Loubinoux, as well as several directors and project managers.

High-level speakers at this award ceremony – opened by Mr Libor Lochman, Executive Director of CER and Mr Philippe Citroën, Director-General of UNIFE – included Mr Siim Kallas, Vice-President of the European Commission (Transport), Mr Brian Simpson, MEP, Chairman of the Transport and Tourism Committee at the European Parliament, Mauro Moretti, CEO of FS and CER Chairman (as well as UIC Vice-Chairman), Mr Henri Poupart-Lafarge, President of Alstom Transport and UNIFE Chairman, Mr Max Leuenberger, Former Swiss Transport Minister (laudator) and Mr Fernand Rippinger, CEO CFL Cargo (laudator).

1 vote

Average rating: 5 / 5

Benedikt Weibel, laureate of the 2013 Political Award (© CER)